Sometime around Thanksgiving I just gave up. I've been eating so poorly that this past week I had the longest-lasting gallbladder pain that I've had yet, including a 7-hour long attack that had me thinking serious thoughts about going to the hospital.
According to friends who've had their gallbladders out, and to much of what I've read online, if you've had symptoms and attacks like mine, you just plain have the gallbladder out. But my doctor seems to be dead-set against it. He just pushes a healthier diet and to lose weight.
I don't know what's the right approach, but I think eating healthier and losing weight could never be a bad thing.
The trick is, how to get there. Ha!
I know how to get there. I do. I just keep running back home before I've reached the end of the driveway. :P
So it might seem predictable and trite and like no "real" change happens because of January 1st, but I'm not going to try anything or even think about my fatness or whatever, until after the holidays. It would be like inviting a One Month Sober alcoholic to a wine-tasting party. I love food and treats. I love to bake at Christmastime and eat all the yummy goodies people bring to my house. If I were to quit cold turkey now--right when yummy things are arriving at my door daily--I'd either hate myself, hate everyone around me, or I'd eat it all and then hate myself some more.
So January 1 it is. See you then!